Recent News & Upcoming Events:

Special Discount Alert!

The multi-award-winning series starters from both my Magicsmith and Rifter urban fantasy series are discounted to just 99¢ for a limited time!

Magicsmith Book 1: A Drop of Magic

A first-in-series tale woven with magic and secrets. Reclusive metalsmith Alex Blackwood wants nothing more than to make her art in peace, until her friend is tortured and killed, and the couch-crashing fae who shows up to investigate reveals she's not as human as she thought. In a society where magic is feared and persecuted, Alex's first reaction is to ignore the crazy claims of the stranger on her doorstep and leave world-saving to the professionals, but Alex's dormant powers may be the only way to stop a killer whose crimes threaten the delicate truce between the humans and fae. As magic bleeds into her mundane life, Alex must reconcile the conflicting sides of her existence in order to catch her friend’s killer before another body drops.

Winner of the Eric Hoffer Award for SciFi/Fantasy, the First Horizons Award for Outstanding Debut Authors, and the Imadjinn Award for Best Urban Fantasy.

Rifter Book 1: Demon Riding Shotgun

Sometimes it takes a monster to catch a monster... Possessed by a demon since she was a child, Mira Fuentes maintains a fragile alliance with the snarky soul who shares her body. Together they hunt down magical troublemakers the human world is ill-equipped to deal with, but a decade of hiding who she is in a world that would just as soon see her dead has left her with a mountain of insecurities—especially where interpersonal relationships are concerned. When a routine hunt goes wrong, Mira quickly finds herself in over her head and at the top of Baltimore's Most Wanted. She’ll have to set her trust issues aside and enlist the help of the cop assigned to bring her in if she hopes to prevent the human race from becoming meat puppets for the denizens of the Rift.

Winner of the Next Generation Indie Book Award for Paranormal Fiction, the Colorado Authors League Award for both Fantasy and Paranormal categories, and finalist for the Colorado Book Award.

New Release: Lies and Illusion

Lies and Illusion, the seventh book in the award-winning Magicsmith urban fantasy series, is now available!

Early reviewers are calling this book "mind-blowing", "brilliant", "powerful," and a "non-stop action thrill-ride"!

Diplomacy has never been Alex’s strong suit. . .

When the vampire council puts Alex and James on trial for exposing the species’ existence to the world, Alex's freedom and James's life hang in the balance, though Alex suspects James’s new daywalking ability is the real aim of their inquisition.

Any hope of talking their way out of hot water evaporates when one of the council members is found murdered . . . with James standing over the smoldering corpse. With every vampire looking to claim Alex’s power for themselves, she will have to team up with an unlikely ally, push her magic to its limits, and match wits against a powerful new foe if she hopes to come out unscathed.
 Order your copy today:
Add it on Goodreads or BookBub

Check out my blog for additional news...

Stay in the Know:

When you sign up for my mailing list, you'll receive a free Magicsmith Universe novella as a special welcome gift!

Before Alex Blackwood embraced the long-dormant magic buried in her blood, before Mira Fuentes made a deal with a demon, Annabelle Margaret Hayworth fought for the rights of the fae.

Ann’s always wanted magic of her own, despite the fact that faeries are illegal. When a routine blood test reveals a dangerous family secret, the teen outcast pits herself against the human authorities in the hopes of finding a place where she truely belongs.

A story of hope and sacrifice, this YA Magicsmith prequel is set at the dawn of the Faerie Wars.
Discover the Magic:

New to the Magicsmith universe?

The Magicsmith urban fantasy series follows half-fae metalsmith Alex Blackwood as she works to unite the warring factions of her world while at the same time struggling to accept the disparate parts of her own existence in a world where magic is feared, persecuted, and controlled.

There are currently seven books and several short stories in the Magicsmith series, with more scheduled.

Start this series with Book 1: A Drop of Magic.

Want something a little different? Explore what it means to be a monster in the Rifter series

Dark, quirky, urban fantasy heaped with magic, mystery, and all the feels. Mira Fuentes shares her body with an irreverent incorporeal being (colloquially known as a demon). Together, they hunt down magical troublemakers that the human world is ill equipped to deal with, but a decade of hiding who she is in a world that would just as soon see her dead has left her with a mountain of insecurities—especially where interpersonal relationships are concerned.

Part urban fantasy, part paranormal suspense, the Rifter series currently has two books published with two more novels and one novella scheduled.

Start this series with Demon Riding Shotgun.
What Readers are Saying:

"I am so in love with these characters... This is urban fantasy how it should be, and I can’t wait to read more in this interesting world."
Penny N.

"My new "auto-buy" author. I love everything this woman writes."
J.D. Brown,
Award-Winning Author of the Ema Marx Series

“I LOVED this book. It’s got fun. It’s got depth. It’s definitely going to stick with me.”
Lydia R.

“L.R. Braden's Magicsmith series contains the best of all worlds--murder, mayhem and magic. How can you go wrong?”
Jeanne Stein,
Bestselling author of The Anna Strong Vampire Chronicles

“Holy Wow!!! I absolutely loved this book!!! I'm dying for more of this world; it is incredibly compelling with vivid world-building and fascinating well-developed characters! This is a must read!”

“[Braden] delivers a perfect package. Complete when we read the last words, and assuring a next buy simply through great writing...”
Queen of Swords

“Braden delivers an expertly paced plot brimming with magic, gale-force fight scenes, and delicious romance.”
Hunter J. Skye,
Award-winning author of the Hell Gate series